Gustavus Google Calendar Visibility

Posted on October 20th, 2020 by

Did you know that by default, your Gustavus Google calendar is only visible to you? Did you also know that you can change that to fit your needs a bit better?

Let’s say, you would like only a few select people to see when you are free/busy so they can schedule meetings with you when you are free, you can change that by walking through these steps:

  1. Open your google calendar by going to calendar.google.com and login with your Gustavus email address and Gustavus password.
  2. Find your calendar on the left (it will be your name) and hover your mouse on it
  3. Click the three vertical circles to the right of your calendar.
  4. Click Settings and Sharing.
  5. Under Share with specific people, click Add People.
  6. Type in the name of the Gustavus user. Active directory will find them as you type. You can add as many people here as needed.
  7. Under Permissions, select see only free/busy (hide details).
  8. Click Send. This will save your changes and send a notice to the users you added.
  9. Click the back arrow in the upper left to return to your calendar. Now, those people can see when you are free/busy on your calendar.

Or, let’s say you would like everyone at Gustavus to see when you are free/busy, you can change that by walking through these steps:

  1. Open your google calendar by going to calendar.google.com and logging in with your Gustavus email address and Gustavus password.
  2. Click the three vertical circles to the right of your calendar.
  3. Click Settings and Sharing.
  4. Under Access Permissions, check the box to select the option Make available for Gustavus Adolphus College and click the permissions drop-down and select See only free/busy (hide detail).
  5. Click the back arrow in the upper left to return to your calendar. Now, all Gustavus users can see when you are free/busy on your calendar.

Just remember, you are only granting them access to see when you are free or busy. They can not see what you are doing, who you are with, or where you are meeting. Even so, you should only give others this access if you feel comfortable doing so.

 

 

Leave a Reply